School Committee



WHEREAS, “anti-racism” is defined as the policy or practice of opposing racism and promoting racial tolerance; and

WHEREAS, schools have the responsibility to equip students with their civil right of obtaining a free and appropriate public education, it is the responsibility of Medway Public Schools to ensure we create a welcoming community for ALL students; and


WHEREAS, it is the responsibility that our district make available to all district staff, including School Committee members, annual professional development on diversity, equity, and inclusion; and

WHEREAS,  our district will commit to seeking to employ and retain a diverse and culturally responsive teaching workforce; and


WHEREAS, our  district will examine its  policies for institutional and systemic racialized practices and implement change with sustainable policies that are evidence based; and

WHEREAS, our  district will incorporate into its  curriculum the history of racial oppression and works from diverse perspectives; and

WHEREAS, we as school district leaders can no longer remain silent to the issues of racism and hate that continue to plague our public and private institutions; 


RESOLVED: that The Medway School Committee must guarantee that anti-racist practices are implemented and diversity, equity, and inclusion is embedded and practiced for our students, families, faculty and staff. 

We further resolve that the Medway School Committee will review the District’s practices related to diversity, equity, and inclusion on an annual basis.

Adopted: August 20, 2020 


The Medway School Committee consists of five members who are elected to staggered three-year terms in the May Town Election.  In the context of Chapter 71, Section 37 of Massachusetts General Laws, our primary responsibilities are:

  • review, approve and oversee the annual school budget
  • hire and evaluate the performance of the superintendent
  • establish policy and goals for the school district
  • advocate for the students in the school district

The committee generally meets the first and third Thursday of each month during the school calendar year in the Presentation Room at Medway Middle School.  Meetings are public and are conducted under the rules of Massachusetts Open Meeting Law.

Susan Dietrich (2023)                    
Cindy Sullivan (2024)                    
Lauren Nassiff (2022)                    
Tim Fagerson (2022)                     
Melissa Greenfield (2023)             

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.